Asheville
Urban Trail

Station #8 - Flat Iron Architecture

Flat Iron Architecture
 
Listen:

Turn the corner and you'll discover a fabulously large iron, a replica of one used by a local laundry (artist: Reed Todd). In 1923 E. W. Grove built a major department store, now the Haywood Park Hotel, opposite this corner.  The Flat Iron Building (1926) followed soon afterward, designed by Albert Wirth and reminiscent of the ground-breaking 1902 skyscraper that graces Fifth Avenue in Manhattan. 

Urban Trail Stations

Bronze cats mark the site of an original retaining wall for a hill later removed by E.W. Grove to develop that part of…

A glass etching (temporarily unavailable) shows the original plans for the Grove Arcade, including a full-fledged tower…

This "signature" station celebrates both “old” and “new” Battery Park Hotels, the first destroyed by fire, but both…

The Basilica of St. Lawrence features North America's largest self-supporting elliptical dome.

Five bronze figures seemingly float to the rhythms of Appalachian music, a tribute to the songs of the mountains.

This forged-metal representation of three well-heeled and hatted ladies with a small dog in tow commemorates an era when…

A basket of apples balanced over wagon wheels recalls a time when produce markets and livery stables lined Lexington…

The unbridled imagination of a boy on stilts captures the spirit of architect Richard Sharp Smith who left a lasting…