Copland 3

  • Brevard Music Center

  • Address: 349 Andante Lane, Brevard, NC 28712
  • Times: 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
  • From: 07:30 PM to 09:30 PM
  • Dates: July 20, 2024
  • Admission: Price Varies
  • Phone: (828) 862-2105

BMC alumnus André Raphel returns to conduct a program of works spanning three centuries. Dvořák's Violin Concerto, first played in 1883, is graceful, expressive, and folksy in nature. Jessie Montgomery's Hymn for Everyone was commissioned by the Chicago Symphony and premiered in 2022. Aaron Copland's 3rd Symphony, often regarded as the "great American Symphony," received its first performance by the Boston Symphony in 1946. Copland's famous Fanfare for the Common Man serves as the theme of the last movement.
Brevard Music Center Orchestra
André Raphel, conductor
William Hagen, violin

Map loading icon