Asheville
Architecture Trail

Station #9 - The Bon Marché Building

The Bon Marché Building
 

E.W. Grove stepped forward and built the Bon Marché building in 1923 for the store's owner, Solomon Lipinsky, a prominent Jewish businessman and community leader.  The store's name, meaning "good market," came from Le Bon Marché, one of the world's first department stores in Paris.  In a letter to Solomon Lipinski's son, Lewis, author Thomas Wolfe wrote that if he ever heard anything had happened to the landmark store "I should feel almost as if Beaucatcher Mountain had been violently removed from the landscape by some force of nature."  When Bon Marché moved across the street in 1937, Ivey's Department Store took over the building and became a mid-twentieth century fixture of downtown commercial life.  After restoration work in 1985, the building became the Haywood Park Hotel.  W.L. Stoddart, the original building's architect, also designed the Battery Park Hotel and the Vanderbilt Hotel.

Architecture Trail Stations

Named for its triangular wedge shape, the Flatiron welcomes walkers to the entrance of Wall Street, a tree-lined lane of…

Across the street from the Flatiron's thinner end, the fanciful Miles Building clamors for attention as a unique and…

With its rear entrance on Wall Street and front on Patton, the Public Service Building fairly bristles with…

One of Asheville's (and arguably one of America's) most beautiful buildings, the Grove Arcade covers an entire city…

Today's Battery Park Hotel building replaced the original Battery Park Hotel owned by railroad mogul Frank Coxe, an…

The first of a series of Beaux Arts influenced buildings in Asheville beautifully conjured by Douglas Ellington, a North…

When completed in 1928, the 17-story courthouse building became the tallest local government building in the state.

An Art Deco masterpiece, the City Building sprung from Douglas Ellington's imagination and desire to reflect the…

North Carolina's tallest skyscraper when finished in 1924, the Jackson Building rises 13 stories, standing in the…

Designed for prominent builder William H. Westall, this narrow Spanish Romanesque, eight-story office tower shared an…

Edward Tilton, an advisor to the Carnegie Foundation, designed more than a hundred libraries in his lifetime, including…

Built in 1928, this building rings true to Samuel Kress' vision that his stores would stand as works of public art.

Douglas Ellington's bright and joyous detailing of the facade and interior of the S&W Cafeteria struck what he called at…

E.W. Grove stepped forward and built the Bon Marché building in 1923 for the store's owner, Solomon Lipinsky, a…